Best wide angle lens for me?

Ridgeback Guy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, I'm a newb here, and need some help deciding on a wide angle lens.

I am going on a trip to next year that will be taking me to the Azores, Portugal, Spain, and England. I would like to buy a wide angle lens for the mountains, and coastlines, and possibly some architecture (not as important as the landscape photography). I've narrowed it down to a few, but really am not sure which lens would be best for what I want it to do. I would like to keep it in the $500-700 dollar range.

My camera is a Nikon d80

These are my choices in order. But am not really sure how much of a difference there will be between a 12-24mm, and a 10-20mm lens. What are your oppinions?

#1 - Tokina AF 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX..... 1st pic due to excellent reviews, and sub $500 price tag. I also like the fact that the lens remains a constant length during zooming, and has a focus clutch for easy transitions between MF and AF.

#2 - Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 EX DC HSM - due to excelent reviews, and price. The HSM is also a plus, should I ever decide to sell the lens.

#3 - Sigma AF 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX HSM DG..... 3rd choice because of the good reviews, but at the high end of my price range.

Should I be considering the tokina 11-16mm too?

Thanks in advance, John K

Also is there a significant difference in the sigma 10-20mm f3.5 vs the f4-5.6. Is the 3.5 worth the nearly $200 difference?

Personally, I'd get the excellent-but-nearly-impossible-to-find-in-stock Tokina 11-16 f/2.8. The Sigma 10-20 is also excellent. I've never used either, but people speak highly of them. Some people fret about the limited zoom range of the Tokina, but I'd probably be using it at 11mm most of the time anyway. Plus, I have the Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 HSM Macro, so 16mm isn't all that limiting.

I wouldn't get your first or third option.