Better camera for SLR newbie?

dustinjt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm graduating to an SLR and getting into photography as a hobby, and there are two pretty good SLRs for sale in my area, but I'm not sure which is better for a beginner.

The first camera is the Cannon EOS 30D. It's an older camera, but after some research I have found that it is still a very good camera. It's for sale for $375, but it's body only, so I'll have to buy a lens (which I really don't need anything spectacular, so I can probably find something on the cheap that would suffice).

The second camera is the Cannon EOS XTi. From my research, I have found that this is a camera designed to be friendly for SLR beginners, but the quality of the photographs may not be as good as the 30D. It's for sale for $365.

I'm considering quality of camera in my purchase, but let's be honest... price is a huge factor in my purchase (I am a college student). So, the XTi will be cheaper. However, I also want a camera for the long haul. So which of these will be the best investment camera that I can build on and still have a great camera for years, and is also a newbie-friendly camera?

Thanks photography experts! And I will probably have many questions in the future!

Well, the 30D is a 8 MP camera, but has some advance features such as a little faster focusing and faster shooting. The xTi is a 10MP camera, but not quite as advanced on the features. Either of the two cameras will get you off to a wonderful start. (The 40D and the xti 400D are closely related) I use an xTi, and a 40D and have no complaints with either. Both cameras have automatic modes, semi-auto modes (like shutter and aperture priotity) and fully manual capability.

The 30D is quite a bit "bigger" in your hands than the xTi. I think the best thing is to actaully go hold the cameras and see which one you like.