Better everyday lens?

slinger1317

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello guys, new to the forum here, and I've been dabbling with DSLR's for a few years. Finally stepping up to the big leagues by purchasing a Nikon D90. I already have a Nikkor 55-200 lens for close ups, but I am looking for an everyday lens that I will use 90% of the time. I will be using it mostly for everyday type uses: vacations, birthdays, some sports. My wife and I are expecting a baby in the fall, so a lot of pictures will be coming!

Anyway, I seem to keep coming back to a choice between the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, or the prime AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G. What should I do??

I have read great reviews about the low light capability of the 35mm, but I would also feel I have the entire range covered with the 18-55 as a complement to the 55-2000 I already have. Will the 35 leave me with any gaps in my range??

I know both of these lenses will more than take care of my needs, I am just looking for some of the forum's thoughts on the pros and cons of each.

Thanks so much guys!

As for getting the 35mm F/1.8 lens or not, personally I will not replace the standard zoom lens with it. I think if possible, get a standard zoom and then a fast prime.

If really tight in budget, get a not so fast standard zoom lens (i.e. the Nikon kit lens) together with a fast prime lens such as the 35mm F/1.8.

For indoor shots such as birthday party, a standard zoom lens is more useful. And if decided to get the kit lens, you may also get a external flash that allow you bounce the light off the wall or ceiling.

The 50mm 1.4 is a great everyday lens that I've had on my D90 a lot more than my zooms especially since I currently have to walk everywhere I go.

Ever since I bought my 35mm 1.8, it hasn't been taken off the camera yet :)