Bike Night

JTG40cal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and a buddy I ride with (exceptional photographer) has offered to provide some of us with informal photography lessons beginning next week - one night a week for six weeks.

Our first assignment, in preparation for the first class, is to submit two photos. One of something that holds monetary or emotional value and one portrait. I havent gotten to the portrait yet, but here is my photo of something that actually holds both monetary AND emotional value to me. I took this tonight after a nice little ride. I noticed the street lamp as I was pulling in and was hoping I could make something of it.

I dont have a tripod yet, so I had to use a makeshift box and the camera's timer. Any input is greatly appreciated

Lens = Canon Ultrasonic 10-22mm
Shutter Speed = 20"
Aperature = 4.5
ISO = 100 (probably should have increased this...didnt even think about that until just now)
Flash = N/A

3802644967_675f5c05b4_b.jpg

Any comments are greatly appreciated. Please tell me how I could impove.

Thank you!

I can't tell you how to improve but I like the concept of your image. The color works for me, it's not red or blue. I actually enjoy following the line to the bike, the visual/composition is nice. Not fond of the trees or the lamp post even though it's needed. I like it though... cool grenade.

I like the concept as well. However, I find the angle of the curb and lamp post distracting. I would straighten that up.

Thank you for the feedback! Im sure someone with some post-processing skill could get everything straightended out (e.g., lamp post and curb), but unfortunately, that person is not me.

I like the concept and color, but the angle (as stated above) and the trees are too distracting. Maybe find a light with nothing behind?