Black & white Digital pictures

Sunnybird

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
HI there,

I'm a total newbie to this forum but so far it looks great and there are loads of really good tip / advice for everything photography related, whether you're very experienced or a beginner (like me!!).

I have a questions about black and white digital photos. I have a digital camera with a memory card. I take pictures in colour but have recently been wondering if I can take black and white photos too. Does anyone know if I can?! I love black and white but always assumed I was limited to colour shots with them - I hope someone can prove me wrong!!

Kind regards,

Sunnybird :wink:

It depends on each camera. I'd check the instruction book that came with the camera.

You will however have more control if you convert the image to black and white in programs like Photoshop, Gimp etc.

Welcome to TPF! :)

I prefer to change them to B&W after taking them in colour, that way I can have a colour copy as well, see which looks best.

There are many ways to turn a color image into b&w, but a lot of people here prefer the channel mixer. Try doing a search either here or on Google for that. You should find some good info.

many digital point and shoot as well as slr's will have built in "filters" where you can convert the image to b/w, sepia, etc in camera. However, as stated above, you have far greater control over the outcome if you take the image and convert it yourself in a photo editing software like photoshop or GIMP or similar program.

Thank you for all the warm welcomes guys - am very happy I joined this forum!

I had my suspicions that it was possible to change colour images to black and white using a programme like Photoshop. I'll have to have a go (although I've never used Photoshop in that capacity before!!). What's GIMP? Is that a similar programme to Photoshop? If so, which one is better?!