Blurry action photos - Need help Please

smcgee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a Canon 60D and take pictures of my son's soccer games. I have the camera in action mode with the continuous picture option on. I normally never have any issues except for the occasional blurry picture but over the last two games, over half of the pictures I take (normally about 1000), are either completely or partially out of focus. I am a camera novice so not sure if it is something with the camera settings or with me. I do notice that when I hold down the button to take pictures, it is slower than normal taking multiple pictures than normal. Hopefully someone can help me.

It's difficult to pinpoint exactly what the problem is, but you speak of the slower-than-normal burst rate - this MAY be due to either a low-charge battery, or some change in the type of shots being saved. For example, if you go from Medium Size JPG to RAW, this bump in file size will often make the FPS drop a bit. Check to make sure that the file type you want is appropriate - If I were doing fast action shots, I'd probably use medium or even small JPG.

As far as the out of focus issue, that may be due to a change in the focus points, or the AF mechanism.

You should be in AI Servo mode, and use the Center focus point, with an aperture of f/8 or one stop either way. This will probably give you the best chance of getting the shot.

Let us know how things turn out.

Also if the lighting conditions has changed that can make a world of difference.
Is the field well lite ?
Or are the lighting conditions poor ?
If there isnt enough light your shutter speed will be slower and the action will have a smeered effect.