Boudoir Photos in Front of Window....

Nessy024

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys! Im a boudoir photographer! Check out Vanessa Julie Photography

Im going to Florida for a Boudoir-a-thon and rented a hotel with a beach view.

In my studio, I photograph with Nikon 35 1.4 and usually when I photograph in front of the window, the window is blown out but my lady is perfect.

In Florida I want to be able to see my client plus the beach in the background. Is there a way to do that without being a silhouette?

I also use an SB-700.

Off camera flash/strobes. Meter your camera for the bright background then setup the lighting for the same settings for your subject. Use a large diffuser if you want to replicate the natural light looks. By large, I mean like 4ft or larger :D

Off camera flash/strobes. Meter your camera for the bright background then setup the lighting for the same settings for your subject. Use a large diffuser if you want to replicate the natural light looks. By large, I mean like 4ft or larger :D
Agreed; I'd actually go a bit further and suggest your background be 1/2 - 2/3 stop BELOW key in order to avoid distracting highlights. I don't shoot boudoire, but when I want that sort of light, I have use a 50" Wescott SB which is great for upper-body portraits. If you want full-body, I'd look to a 72" or even consider stacking a couple of 32" one above the other. Out of curiosity, WHY are you shooting portraits with such a short focal length?

Hey guys! Im a boudoir photographer! Check out Vanessa Julie Photography

Im going to Florida for a Boudoir-a-thon and rented a hotel with a beach view.

In my studio, I photograph with Nikon 35 1.4 and usually when I photograph in front of the window, the window is blown out but my lady is perfect.

In Florida I want to be able to see my client plus the beach in the background. Is there a way to do that without being a silhouette?

I also use an SB-700.