Brand new to the forums and photography as well

G. Ike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, as the title of the thread suggests, I am brand new to photography. In fact, so brand new I don't even have a camera yet! I want to take mostly outdoor shots of nature, action shots depicting road bicycle riders/racers and possibly some artistic macros of random household items. I have no idea what to look for in a camera. My very basic knowledge of cameras and recommendations from other people I have spoken too point me in the direction of something like a Fuji FinePix S5200 or S700. I like the ultra zoom feature and judging by a friends shots it takes good macro photos. But then again, that could be my friend's skills and not the camera itself. So, do you guys have any recommendations for cameras? Thanks in advance for any responses and for putting up with such a noob

If you've never had a camera, try and star with a point and shoot. Nothing too expensive, or too adavnced. Get yourself familiar with all the settings and buttons. Try the manual controls on the camera. Once you get familiar with that and have some extra money, upgrade to an inexpensive DSLR.

Go to your local book store, get yourself a good book about photography for beginners. Read it and then you`ll know what camera you want. For the uses you listed in your post you`ll need a SLR. You`ll wan`t one as soon as your first shoot of bicycle riders will be over and you`ll be looking at your shots. Of course, your skills as a photographer are of most importance. But you need a camera you can grow with. Point and shoots are to basic, slow and etc, etc.

Thanks Sheriff, is it a bad idea to buy a used camera? All of the SLRs I have looked at are a little too much for my budget at the moment. I would like to get the nicest camera I can for the least amount of money. Any suggestions?