Budget of $830. Looking to buy digital SLR.

gender bombs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I've been using film for about two years now. I've taken two darkroom classes outside of school and am currently taking photography in school. I am looking to buy a good SLR and decent lens(s') for $830. Since the darkroom won't always be available to me, I want to be able to have pictures ready to be edited and printed right after I take them. Also I'd like to take shots of a subject on digital to see how it'll hopefully look on my film camera.

Looking for:

-Digital SLR that takes outstanding quality photos
-Many different modes and a very complex manual mode
-A standard 50mm lens, and possibly a zoom lens and wide angle.

I've done some of my own research and product searching and I cannot find anything within my budget. If anyone knows of any good retailers out there in the NY/NJ area I'd be delighted. Thanks for any help.

i got a Canon Rebel XT with the kit lens for $855 at Circuit City, and the Pentax ist DL is for sale there, and under $600. when i went to get my XT, i almost got the Pentax, or the Olympus Evolt E-500 instead because they had a deal with the Pentax that came with 2 lenses (i dont remember which, sorry), and the Olympus comes with 14-45mm and 40-150mm Zuiko lenses.

i did a little looking. they have the Olympus for under $800 now and it still comes with the 2 lenses i mentioned before.
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Olympus-EVOLT-E-500-Digital-Camera/sem/rpsm/oid/136561/catOid/-13062/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

the Pentax is on sale there too, and after a $100 rebate, its only $433.89
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Pentax-ist-DL-Digital-Camera/sem/rpsm/oid/147389/catOid/-13062/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

heres the Canon Rebel XT, they have that for sale for $759.99.
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Canon-Digital-Rebel-XT-Digital-Camera/sem/rpsm/oid/120005/catOid/-13062/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do