built-in image processor?

mapgirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In trying to make a decision among several cameras, a problem with the Pentax K10D built-in image processor keeps coming up. But I'm not experienced enough to understand the problem or the way around it.
Apparently the Pentax image lacks the "crispness" of other comparable cameras. Here's a quote from "dpreview":

"Crop for crop the K10D actually delivers about the same amount of detail as the D80, the biggest difference is down to the crispness of edge detail which appears softer in the K10D image than the D80. As we speculated earlier this would appear to be down to the type of demosaicing / sharpening algorithms used as the actual detailed delivered by the CCD is higher and can be extracted fully by shooting RAW."

Then they did a comparison shooting in RAW:

"Removing the camera's built-in image processor and instead processing using a standard converter (in this case Adobe Camera RAW) we see the K10D's true colors, clear crisp images with lots of detail and sharp edges. Indeed there are several parts of the image which look more detailed than the D80. It makes you wonder why Pentax couldn't achieve this quality with their processor."

So here are my questions:

What is a "built-in image processor"? How does it affect how I use the camera and the results?
I want a crisp image. Is the solution to shoot in RAW and make some sort of conversion when I down (Up?) load to PhotoShop Elements?
Or are they saying there's an inherent problem with the Pentax? I've been leaning in that direction until I encountered these problems. And the Canon EOS30 is financially more out of my league.

thanks in advance for the help!

I want a crisp image. Is the solution to shoot in RAW and make some sort of conversion when I down (Up?) load to PhotoShop Elements?