bulk loading film

Bobby Ironsights

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I'm new to photography, and want to start developing my own film, (B&W) and loading my own film cassettes.

I've decided to order my stuff from adorama, and so am about to purchase a developing tank (single reel, stainless steel) weighted film clips, and a changing bag.

Also; a watson 35 mm bulk film loader, and 10 reloadable plastic cassettes.

Adorama only sells two sizes of changing bag however, Small (16x17). and extra large 36" x 43".

I'm a largish man, with fairly large hands, but the price on the small is tempting.

However; I have never seen a roll of bulk film, so I'm thinking the small might be too small to fit all the stuff in there that I need for loading cassettes.

Any suggestions?

Also, is the film squeegee really neccessary? They don't ship it to Canada for whatever reason. :grumpy:

Also, are there any other doo-dads that I should be buying with my first order?

Thank you all for your time;
Bobby.

However; I have never seen a roll of bulk film, so I'm thinking the small might be too small to fit all the stuff in there that I need for loading cassettes.

A roll of 100' of film is about as big around as a roll of masking tape, but thicker. You only need the changing bag to load the bulk loader. Once the film is in the loader, loading the cassettes can be done in the light.

Also, is the film squeegee really neccessary?

I never use film squeegees. I call them film destroyers. They are excellent at creating long scratches that run through every frame.

I've been using my fingers for 15 years. Some might caution about that too, but I've never had a problem.