Buyer beware - Nikon repair service

bcotter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been buying Nikon gear for many years. Now that I need something repaired I'm really regretting it.

I sent a Coolscan scanner into Nikon's Melville NY office for repair and they sent me an estimate on 8/13. I immediately approved it and they charged it to my credit card.

The online status form then showed it moving through their repair process. On 8/17 it showed as completed and ready to ship. Since then nothing has changed. I've called Nikon and keep getting promises that they will look into it and call me with an update but no one ever does call. Yesterday I spoke to a supervisor named Arshad who promised without a question of a doubt that it would go out overnight and that he would call me with the tracking number. Well, it didn't ship. I tried him back but the agent who answered said he was really busy and would have to get to me tomorrow.

I tried their corporate number in Melville and have left voice mails but haven't heard anything at all back.

Nikon may make great equipment but at this stage their customer "service" is about the worst I have experienced. They have my gear, they have charged me for the repair, but they haven't sent it back and I have no idea what is going on.

I'm open to any suggestions on what to do next. In the meantime, buyer beware.

Bill

Took 6 weeks for my D7000 to be returned for a simple warranty job.

call your credit card company (if that's how you paid for it) and file a complaint. They'll fight it out for you.