Buying a DSLR on Ebay...advice?

vivalavieboheme

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I'm currently shooting on a Panasonic DMC-FP1, a point-and-shoot that takes OK pictures, but it was all my dad would buy me at the time. I'm a poor college student, and much of the money I do have goes to participating in clubs, food, clothes, and other stuff I need. I really want a better camera, like a DSLR, but I can't afford to pay $500 and up for one. My parents won't buy me one, especially when my dorm TV is going to cost less than one of these. So I was thinking Ebay. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on buying cameras on Ebay - have you done it/would you recommend it? What to look for? What are signs you shouldn't buy that camera? And any DSLR models you'd recommend, if I can find those on Ebay? Thanks!

Here in the UK, the Buy Now transactions are covered by Distance Selling law which entitles the buyer to decline and return the goods within seven days of receipt and get a refund. Different in the US?

I never bought anything from eBay for over £100, use Paypal it's highly recommended so you can refund if the product is not as described or it doesn't arrived etc.

You may want to post your $$$ range so folks can give you a reasonable goal to reach.
-
Shoot well, Joe

Just make sure you buy from a seller w/ good feedback.

Good Luck

Well, for less than $500, even a 30D body will be about $300. I bought a 10D body for my son a couple years ago for $150. Once you get going, you need lenses, then a flash etc. So you may want to consider how much you really need a dslr now.

I have purchased and sold cameras via ebay and the advice to stick with highly rated sellers is a good one. I would also watch out for someone with a good percentage, but very low transaction rate unless they have good comments regarding expensive items.