Buying a new lens

deliveryguy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys! I'm a bit new to all this; I'm trying to learn as much as I can so I can start taking some nice shots.

I'm looking at a lot of different lenses right now because all I have is the 18-55mm kit lens and a 50mm f/1.8 lens. I use the 50 for portraits and any sort of low lighting photography and I save the kit lens for landscapes and any photos where I can't "zoom with my feet".

Does this seem like reasonable usage? I know the kit lens has a shorter focal length so it can capture a wider angle (scenery), and the 50 can take more light in quicker but it has a pretty restrictive focal length.

I've been looking around for a decent lens to expand my abilities; I'm torn between getting a macro lens (I would LOVE to take macro pics) and a decent all-purpose lens.

I was wondering:

What makes the following lens so much better than the kit lens that comes with the XSi?

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Tamron-17-50mm-Aspherical-Digital-Cameras/dp/B000EXR0SI/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header]Amazon.com: Tamron AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di-II LD SP ZL Aspherical (IF) Zoom Lens for Canon Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo[/ame]

Do you have any suggestions with regard to a f/2.8 macro lens with a focal length short enough for portraiture? I'm hoping to spend less than $500. Any advice would be awesome :).

It can open to a wider aperture, and the wide aperture stays constant as you zoom the lens.

Unfortunately, it is a DI-II (Canon EF-S) lens and will not work on higher end (EF only) Canon camera bodies.

Also unfortunate is the part of the lens discription:

and natural soft-focus effect to produce sophisticated results
or put another way, forget about getting sharply focused images. ;)

You need to search online for other reviews of the lens.

Canon makes some very nice Macro lenses, this one in particular: Canon U.S.A. : Consumer & Home Office : MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo