Buying first camera

ereid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am buying my first good camera and need a bunch of advice. I am new to this so i would like something user friendly. I dont want to start with something half assed, i would like to start off right. I would really like to get a dslr but am not sure if thats the right idea for me as a starter or not. I have been looking at the canon xt and the nikon d40, the only thing that i have been torn with is that you cant use the lcd screen as a viewfinder, i know thats probably not a justifiable complaint after i see the quality of pictures.

Anyways any advice would be greatly appreciated

Welcome to the forum.

You are on the right track, the XT (XTi) or D40 would be a great camera to start with. You can use them as simply as any camera but they have the capability to grow with you, as your skill & knowledge gets better.

Sure, you can't use the LCD screen to preview the image...but after using the viewfinder, you probably won't miss it. Besides, holding the camera out in front of you, is one of the worst ways to shoot a camera.

well if you are looking to develop photography into a good hobby or something like that, have a look at the SLRs, so Canon Rebel, Nikon D40, D80, Sony Alpha, Pentax K100D, Olympus I forget the model, and other companies. If you do go for an SLR, learn about the different type of lenses, and be prepared to invest a decent amount of money. If you don't want an SLR, have a look at the SLR-like cameras-->Canon S5, S3, Panasonic Lumixes, Fujifilms got some. All are good choices. Make sure that you have decent OPTICAL zoom, and a crapload of megapixels doesn't necessarily mean its a good camera. 4 or 5 megapixels will suffice. Oh ya, the bigger the lens is physically on a point and shoot, the better results you'll get, especially in low light. Do your research, good luck.