C&C: A Flower, A Bird, and A Couple of Squirrels

fms1day

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm pretty new to photography, haven't really tried to get serious with it until I picked up my Nikon D60 earlier this month. I went out to the Botanical Garden in San Francisco, CA today with a friend and decided to start practicing. Here's the best I managed to muster up for the day. Though it may have looked good to me, it may be different for you guys. So some friendly C&C please! :thumbup:

Oh and ignore the "JustKidding Photography". I like to keep it fun.

3203223340_befffef916_b.jpg

3203226172_2c622f3c99_b.jpg

3202374241_4331af538b_b.jpg

I think it would have help if you have a shallower DOF in the first two. In the last one, I feel that that the chair get too much attention compare to the squirrel but it's still a good picture nonetheless.

I think it would have help if you have a shallower DOF in the first two. In the last one, I feel that that the chair get too much attention compare to the squirrel but it's still a good picture nonetheless.

I agree,

I didn't even see the squirrel for a few seconds. The edge of the bench is in better focus than the squirrel.

It's helpful to include the shot data (exif) with your pictures when asking for C&C.

#1 - I like the colors, the shot angle (you didn't shoot the flower straight on which would have been boring) and that you didn't place the flower dead center in the frame...looks like you locked focus and re-composed slightly. There is some noise in the background shadows, the flower is still too centered in the frame and there is too much background. You might want to try shooting this and similar with the camera in the portrait orientation. Get close. Watch the light. Watch the background. Don't center the subject.