Camera Maintenance questions

SethAlbritton

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
First I'm a newbie so don't think your talking to an expert or that I think I'm an expert.

Today, I just found out about the canon 5d mark II shutter life expectancy, BUMMER! I've been doing all kind of free or cheap shoots with two photographers and snapping twice every time I take a Photo. Has anyone had their camera break? How long did your camera last?

Do any of you guys send your camera to canon for maintenance and how often. Basically what are some things I should consider when taking care of my camera. Thanks for any help.

I'm a Nikon person, so I have zero experience with Canon customer service. I wouldn't worry too much about the published shutter life expectancy of your camera. If the shutter does pack it in, it's usually not an expensive fix (~$400). Unlike my medium format gear, I don't normally send DSLRs in for CLA (Clean/Lube/Adjust), as there really isn't much that you can adjust on a modern camera.

Here's my experience and w/o naming names...
Colleague 1: Canon 5dm2 has under 60k frames on it, was in repairs 3-4 times for shutter getting stuck and pc-plug not holding the cord in.
Colleague 2: Canon 5dm2 in repairs due to noise in sensor AFTER it came back from tuneups
Colleague 3: Nikon D3 - replaced shutter after 50,000 frames (its meant to go past 250,000 actuations).
Nikon D700 - completely replaced the camera by Nikon after it was showing noise at ISO 400 (camera went to repairs for over 3 times for THAT issue).
Me: Nikon D300s (1) - replaced hotshoe
Nikon D90 - replace shutter at 16k frames
Nikon D300s (2nd body) - replaced sensor after camera went in for cleanup/tuneup
Nikon d70s - replaced hotshoe