Camera Upgrade

Fotographer131

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I’m planning to get a camera upgrade, I’m not a beginner, more of an intermediate photographer. I have used a Nikon D70 for about a year, so I understand photography to some extent. I’m looking for a camera that meets a $400 budget (USD) with the following features:

Required:
Good AF system
Exposure values are not controlled via touch screen
Good under low light
Good battery life

Preferred, but not required:
Good LCD and Live View
Images transfer to other devices

I’m sure I’ll have more requisites as I remember them, but as for now, that’s all.

Thanks for your help!

Maybe a used 7100 or 7200? That meets your criteria I think. Not sure what current used prices are but I paid under $500 for a refurbished 7100 a couple of years ago.

A 7200 refurbished in the Nikon store is around $850. 7100 refurbished body only is $710.

Not sure where you're located. But you can get a used Nikon D3 for around $500 US on Amazon. It's an old body. But it meets your specs exactly

1. Much longer battery life.
2. Designed with photojournalists in-mind so it's great in low light compared to the D70.
3. Not touch-screen controlled.
4. Good autofocus system. It's not at the level of the D500 or D5 but it's a pro camera body.

I'm in Asia, that's probably why, I'll look around the US market.
I have bought used gear (lenses) from people in Japan, and they will ship the item via post anywhere you want.

I would look for the later D5000 series cameras. Probably cost less than the D7000 series cameras.
The D3xxx cameras are probably cheaper than the D5xxx, and if they fit your needs, why not.

But you NEED to check the specs of each model, to see if it has what you want.
The earlier models were not as good for low light as the later models.