Canon 200mm f2.8 II USM

RichieTang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.notrevuephoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello. I am deciding on whether to purchase the canon 200mm F2.8 II USM Prime lense. I was deciding between this or the canon 70-200 f4. I am a beginner photographer, and am looking to learn and practice different types of photography.

I was thinking of using this for a bit of landscape, portrait (candid), and animals. My next two years will be spent evenly between asian cities and rural areas/hiking/backpacking

I currently have a 50mm F1.8 and a 24-105 F4 IS and I am using a Canon Rebel T2i

Thank you for the suggestions/advice!

The 200mm f/2.8 L II USM should (I have no personal experience with the lens) be smaller, lighter, faster to focus, and give you slightly better pictures (as well as working with half the light).

The 70-200 f/4 L, which I do have, is a really excellent lens (though I've not gotten it to be excellent with a filter attached and so shoot without one). It is my current go-to lens for most shots. Despite the "slightly better" statement above, it delivers professional-quality pictures; and what it brings to the table is a zoom range. Seriously: the only think I regret is that I don't have IS.

I would take the 70-200 personally. 200 is a bit far to be shooting portraits, if only from a practical standpoint; and animals may not give you much opportunity to move to recompose. My prime lenses are 50mm and 100mm.