Canon 24-70mm ii vs Canon 24-70mm i

Motrr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
what is the big differents between the Canon 24-70mm 2.8 i and the ii version?

Is differents big? Im not a pro so Its a lot of money.

I have the version I.

Version I has 77mm filter threads. I believe version II is 82mm.

Version I is a “reverse zoom” — version II is standard zoom. A “reverse” zoom means that when you see the lens get physically longer, the focal length is actually getting shorter (most lenses do not work this way). This has some advantages when using the hood. Normally you have to make sure the hood is short enough to avoid causing any vignetting. Since the version I is a reverse zoom, when you’re at the 24mm end the objective element is all the way forward (sticking out near the front of the hood). When you zoom to the long 70mm end, it will retract deep inside the4 hood. On the version II (being a standard zoom) the hood is actually rather shallow to avoid vignetting.

The version II does improve the optics. It’s a sharper lens vs the version I and it’s sharper everywhere and at every focal length. While I don’t own the version II, I’ve heard people wax poetic about the improvements to sharpness and boast that it’s not just the best 24-70 for a “Canon” ... but go on to boast that it’s the best 24-70 lens in the industry for *any* camera. I’m not sure if that boast is true, but it is an exceptionally good lens.

Neither version has image stabilization (there is an f/4 version that does include image stabilization).

If I were buying “new” and my budget would allow me to afford either version, I’d go for the II.