Canon 400d upgrade?

Samuel.z

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello

I recently got interested in photography and got my hand on a canon 400d.

My dad bought this camera back in 2007 and now it have been gathering dust(not literally) for a while. So now in 2016 I started it up and worked well as expected.
My question here is. Will a trade up improve my photos?

I want to shoot landscape photos so that means I should get a wide lens. but I'm not sure the resolution the 400d is producing is good enough for landscape photos.

I really do enjoy photographing and will probably spend a lot of time doing it. but as i'm still a amateur in this area i would like some opinions and thoughts from the community.

I'm ready to spend 400-500€/440 - 560$ (Don't be shy I might reach outside these borders as well).

So to simplify what I'm asking for.

Should I buy a new camera or stick with the one I got and focus on accessories.

Better gear will improve the potential of what you can produce; BUT your methodology is likely, at this stage, a bigger barrier to quality than your equipment.

Before you spend anything I would get some advice and show your photos and get some feedback (check link in my signature about help on that) so that you can improve the overall quality of what you produce before you go spending money. This process also improves your understanding which makes you better equipped to ask for suggestions and be able to filter through what you do and don't need from your equipment- what its shortcomings are and its bonuses - so as to have some context to suggestions and your approach.

Otherwise you'll just get other peoples favourite gear lists.

So lets see a couple of photos - lets hear what settings you used - what mode - how you shot it - did you use a tripod etc... all the detail you can give.