Karloz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.carlleaphotography.co.nz
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HI

I have been using canon 50d for two years now an have been very disappointed with the hi level of image noise in low light conditions. I try where possible to shoot on 200 iso (50d Native ISO) despite this I still get what I consider to be a disappointing result.

I should be more clear on what I am using the camera for - I shoot night landscape and often have shutter open for up to 10 mins and it is very dark when I tale the photos.
Also shoot lot of "events" and wedding where lighting is low and would benefit from getting good images at around 1600 iso if possible.

I am looking at getting new camera soon and 50d will become spare camera. Its a toss up between

1. 7d
2. 5d 11 perhaps second hand
3. 5d mark 111

Of course my preference would be a new 5d mark 111 but its looking like being out of my range at the moment - ant feed back on 7d and low light iso would be appreciated

Hi. I had a 50d as my first dslr and was disappointed with it also. I put this down to lack of knowledge until I bought a 550d as a backup second camera. Almost at once the 50d got very little use. I traded it for a 7d and am way happier with both noise control and general picture quality. Some people love the 50d and get great shots from it but I do think it has a very un flexible sensor which gives very little leeway for exposure being slightly off. I think without doubt the 5ds would be even better for noise control than the 7d