Canon 5D mark iii with multiple Yongnuo canon copy flash's. Please help

deliriumtrigger

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here is my issue... I am new to flash photography.

When, use a wireless trigger on my camera, (no flash on the camera) and then another wireless trigger on another flash. Then the second flash, I put as "slave 1" and it works. If I disable "fire master flash" it doesn't seem to affect anything. Is that because the master is considered my trigger on my camera? If so, why isn't my first flash considered slave 1?

Okay, now, if I get a 3rd and 4th flash, they only have to option to have slave 1 or slave 2. So what do I do to get those to fire? Put them in groups?

I have more wireless triggers, would it help to put the second flash on a wireless trigger that way I can change it's settings in my canon 5d or will that not work? For the first flash I change it's power and other settings in my camera menu instead of walking up to the flesh. On the second flash, I have to manually change it.

I shoot in M mode on the flash's. The ETTL can't guess what I'm doing for.

I do not understand how this all works, I haven't gotten my second flash to work in nearly 4 months. Today, for some reason it worked. I'm not sure if it's because I left the first flash alone and put the second flash at slave or what.

But again, if I had 4 flash's, would I keep them all at channel A? Or how would I even put one at channel B if it doesn't have a wireless trigger on it?

Sorry im a noob. I hope those who know understand what I am saying and can tell me why it doesn't matter if my master flash is turned on or off the same thing happens.