Canon 5ds r

jjtarnow

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
After some soul searching I decided to buy the new Canon 5ds r this past weekend. I walked into the store not sure whether I should buy the 5ds or the 5ds r...after some discussions with Steve at Unique Photo in NJ I opted for the 5ds r" (as a side note...after I decided on the 5ds r he informed me that the 5ds r is actually outselling the straight 5ds 3:1). I started shooting some A/B tests with my 5d mkIII to see what the difference looks like in execution. First off...the raw file size is massive and I am going to need some bigger cards (and more fixed storage) if I am going to continue to exclusively shoot in raw. Secondly, I primarily shoot landscape and sports...I really bought the camera for landscape shooting BUT the ability to crop action shots with no visible distortion with this thing is stunning...the A/B showed meaningfully better quality 5ds r v. the mkIII. As hoped, blowing up landscape shots shows much better on the 5ds r than the mkIII. I would concur with Canon's own site highlighting that this is a specialized camera and is not meant to replace the mkIII. The low light high ISO comparison favored the mkIII, burst shooting with the 5ds r (using the same speed cards) favored the mkIII as well. Lastly, the new computer cable format is a bit annoying but I understand why they had to make the change.

Bottom line....I like it but it will not be replacing the mkIII.

Congrats on your new camera, the 5DS is an interesting camera not for everyone but it does fulfill a certain niche for people who need tons of resolution.
I have a feeling that in a year or so Nikon will come out with a D810 replacement with 60MP or even more, this MP race is just going to go up and up.

Enjoy your new camera :)

The low light high ISO comparison favored the mkIII, burst shooting with the 5ds r (using the same speed cards) favored the mkIII as well.