canon 70-200 f2.8L IS II USM , need lens test

Saffa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi every one here ..

I'm kinda new in photography , i have this lens and not sure if it is sharp enough !

this photo is taken using tripod and timer so i guess there is no shake , i feel it is not sharp enough can you help me please ? is there any way to test the lens ?

please excuse my English .
Hero 4.jpg

lens 70-200 f2.8 IS II USM
aperture F4
shutter speed 1/4 sec
focal length 200mm

thanks

Hard to say how sharp it is as uploaded photos may take a hit. Did you use autofocus or manual, if manual are you sure it's bang on, you might be to close for the lens to focus correct. Also you're at 1/4 second, I know you're on a tripod but did you use a timer or release cable, touching the shutter button on camera might just move it enough to give a not sharp photo

A lot of factors influence the sharpness of the final photo. Using the tripod and timer to avoid camera shake helps, but you can achieve the same by using a higher shutter speed without the need for a tripod and timer. For a 70-200 mm lens if you keep your shutter speed to at least 1/200 you generally eliminate any problems with camera shake. If possible i like to double that and shoot at 1/400 when possible, i find it makes for nice sharp photos but of course you need to be mindful of your aperture and ISO depending on the shooting conditions.

But there are other factors involved as well, such as your distance from the object being photographed and your aperture settings. These influence your depth of field. A narrow depth of field will cause objects further away or closer than whatever the focal point chosen by the camera might have been to be blurrier than the focal point is, and of course the more narrow your depth of field the blurrier these will become.