canon 75-300vs 75-300mm USM IS telephoto lens

socal82

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im new to photography and really like shooting sports events, but my kit lens doesnt do the job I have a canon t3. I was in best buy today and saw these two lens 75-300mm(199.99) 75-300 USM IS (649.99) whats the difference in lens? Both have a f4-5.9 same focal length or am I missing something? Thanks

75-300mm has no IS if you are going to use the tripod no probelms or your hands are really steady to use it, the 75-300mm has IS and USM the IS only works when you hand hold your camera but if you put it on a tripod IS is turn off the USM is better then a DC motor found in most lenses USM is faster and better.

If you take another lens like the 70-200 f/4 compare it with the 70-200 f/4 IS with USM, the 70-200mm f/4 lens have good reviews online but it has poor IQ in low light but if you use it in bright light the lens works better, but in the UK weather keeps changing so the 70-200mm f/4 IS with USM would be better in any weather change to use.

But the 70-200mm f/2.8 IS USM is a better lens then both the f/4 lenses above but cost more.

Last edited:
But in most sport event or fast moving objects my shutter would be pretty fast so would IS really matter?

But in most sport event or fast moving objects my shutter would be pretty fast so would IS really matter?

IS only works better with hand hold it was design to stop the camera lens shake and blur the picture, if you stick it on a tripod IS is turn off. but your are not going to use the tripod all the time. like i said before about the USM would really help you more then a DC motor the DC motor is slow compare it with the USM that why the 75-300 IS with USM cost more because it is better lens then the cheaper verson one.

Last edited:
A little, but not a lot.