Canon 77D

SuzukiGS750EZ

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Looks like they somewhat bested the 80D with a new sensor, higher ISO range and the same resolution and AF points. Grr! I just bought my 80D 4 months ago.

I was looking into getting this camera to replace my current camera. I just don't know if its a smart move or not. Watching and reading the preview of this camera seems very tempting. I now own a Canon 6D, been having it for about 3 years. Thinking of selling it to get a new camera since I'm not really a pro photographer. When I saw the news that Canon was going to release the 77D, it made me think that this is the right time to sell the 6D and get a new camera. Of course, the big debate now is, is this downgrading and I feel its both of a downgrade and an upgrade.

Why would you go from a nice 6D FF to APS-C just wondering...........

After having, and using the 6D for about or almost 3 years and after taking it to my Maui vacation I thought really hard about how it wasn't really a fun experience. Yes, it delivers great images but my buddy who brought his 80D had some great images also paired up with a Sigma Art lens. So with that I really came to thinking if it were down grading. To me, after really thinking about it, down grading in terms of sensor size but not so much of image quality. The 80D has better features of my 6D also. When I heard about the 77D coming out and reading the specs, it really caught my attention.

Specs arent going to make you a better photographer than your buddy.

Taking some phots might though.

My guess is they are all very similar cameras. The marketing is to make gearheads and noobs alike think they have a " choice" or make a " smart" decision.

More auto focus points, oh wee! High(?er) iso woop woop! A different, new ( ish) sensor, woooowie! Im in where do I sign up?