Canon 85MM 1.8 thoughts

mcera76

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just started shooting weddings and want to buy the 85MM 1.8. What are your thoughts for this type of event with this lens?

I currently shoot with.
Canon 24-105
Canon 50MM 1.2
Canon 70-200MM 2.8 IS
and I rent a Macro

I was interested in the 85MM 1.2 but the price is just too much right now. Is there any comparison?

For about six years I had a 20D and a 5D and the 50/1.8 EF-II, the 24-105-L zoom, the 70-200/2.8 L-USM IS, 50/1.4,100 macro, 135-2-L,the 135 Soft Focus,100/2.8 Macro, and the 85/1.8 EF. Overall, I thought the 85mm was a good lens, with good value and performance for the money. Compact in size and light, good optics, good value for dollar spent.

I dunno...the 85/1.2 has a very strong longitudinal color (purple and green fringing) signature at wide f/stops. YES, it has shallow DOF, but that purple and green color fringing, the longitudinal CA signature, makes me consider it an ugly lens at wide f/stops for a bokeh nut like me: I do not like strong color fringing on 3-D items, but some people do not, and this is not lateral CA which is easy to remove, but this is another type of color fringing that's harder to eliminate. This type of color fringing is fairly common on many telephotos at their widest f/stop or two, and it usually improves a lot as the lens is stopped down--so there goes the advantage of the fast-aperture lens.

Compare the weight of the 85/1.2 against the f/1.8 model.One is a MASSIVE hunk of glass, the other feels light and airy on the camera. The earlier 85/1.2 EF was very SLOW on autofocusing, and had offer high-precision focus placement for use at wide f/stops; the Mark II version was made faster in focusing, but I think the 85/1.8 might actually tend to be faster still.

Sigma has a new, fast-aperture 85mm offering in the ART series https://petapixel.com/2016/10/17/review-sigmas-85mm-f1-4-art-lens-exceeds-expectations/