Canon: Camera Market Saturated

I suppose it depends on what your objective is and the nature of your photography. If you are a pro, you will %100 need to have a mirrorless in the bag. You may still use your DSLR for numerous shoots but there are shots, now, that mirrorless enables that the DSLR just can't get. You can't be in a with a pack of photographers shooting the same event and they get the shot and you don't because of your gear. That's why they can justify $12K telephoto primes.

I got one of the first R6's delivered to the US so I've had it nearly a year now and if I look back, I see over and over shots I got with it that the 6D Mark II simply would not. I chalk this up to 1) Very High ISO Performance, 2) IBIS, 3) Incredible Autofocus making my 100-400 with the 2x TC (800mm @ f 11) actually usable.

I am not a pro but given my experience with the R6, I would be on the list for the R3. I will definitely be on the list for the R7 if it is a mirrorless 7D Mark II replacement.