Canon Digital Rebel / PowerShot G6 / Nikon CoolPix 8800 ?

andrewarchy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm looking forward to buying a digital camera but I don't know which one to choose: Canon EOS Digital Rebel, PowerShot G6 or Nikon CoolPix 8800. I'm in the price range of $700 and for all three cameras I was able to find a suitable price. I definitely want to be able to produce excellent 6x4” photos (I’m not a professional photographer so I will only need to produce 8x12”) as well as fiddle around in Photoshop with color balance, but I'm not sure about the portability factor. G6 is obviously the smallest in the given range but I'm not sure about its quality comparing to the rest.

Could anybody give me some piece of advice, personal opinion or suggestion; I would be very glad to hear.

Thanks

The digital rebel is probably the best all together camera... Except buying lenses for it could take your over your price range. I've never heard anything about the 8800, so I can't say anything regarding that.

If you buy Digital Rebel, I'll buy it with the default lense. And by the way, does anybody know the performance of the default lense?

Thanks

I'm actually thinking about selling my 300d (digital rebel) in about 3-4 weeks. It's about a year old, still in great shape (no bumps or bruises or anything). I love the camera, just looking to upgrade to a professional DSLR for my business.

I'm thinking of selling the body, the 18-55 kit lens, the battery grip, and possibly a couple other accessories like a camera bag, etc. New it'd probably be around a $1200 or $1300 setup, I'll probably ask somewhere around $700

Shoot me an email to [email protected] if you want more details or want to talk about it. :D (If you go to my website (www.whitesharkphoto.com) and look around, most of the photos there were shot with the 300d, especially in the portrait section)