Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 - Assessment

I'm no expert but I have to agree with some of the comments above that the pics are too different to compare properly.

Try taking some shots again, but under the same lighting, same subject with different aperatures.

Your soft shot could be a case of you locking the focus on the eyes, but then your body swaying slightly causing the focus to now be sharpest on the collar. As you said, the DOF is very thin at f 1.4 or f2.0, so slight movement back or forward can cause you to loose the focus point if you locked the focus and then moved. That is part of the reason that locking focus and then recomposing is nearly impossible to do when close to the subject and with big aperatures.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers

I'm no expert but I have to agree with some of the comments above that the pics are too different to compare properly.

Try taking some shots again, but under the same lighting, same subject with different aperatures.

Your soft shot could be a case of you locking the focus on the eyes, but then your body swaying slightly causing the focus to now be sharpest on the collar. As you said, the DOF is very thin at f 1.4 or f2.0, so slight movement back or forward can cause you to loose the focus point if you locked the focus and then moved. That is part of the reason that locking focus and then recomposing is nearly impossible to do when close to the subject and with big aperatures.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers

Thanks for the tips. Unfortunately these shots weren't test shots, so they were taken in different lighting. I am going to try to take some test shots tomorrow changing apertures in the same lighting.