Canon EOS 1300D DSLR Camera - Help Needed!

FortMorris

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

Bought myself a camera I thought would be simple, as I'm an amateur.
Taken out of the box and charged the battery overnight. Put it all together with a newish Sandisk SD card, and I can't get any power to the viewfinder. Not even as far as setting the time and date.

When I look through the eyepiece, there are numbers at the bottom when the camera is ON, so there is some power coming through.

Please help - I'm waiting to hear back from Canon but I bought this for my holiday this Friday!

Thanks
Scott

(Almost afraid to ask...)

User's Manual offers no guidance?

Today's dslrs are anything but simple.
Read the manual with the camera next to you.
And as you read, look at those functions/buttons/etc on the camera, and try to follow along.
If you are running out of time, read the basic/quick start section, then read the index for specific stuff.

You should NEVER get a new device, immediately before a vacation or event.
You usually need time to learn the device, and get used to how it works.

Bring the manual with you on vacation, or a PDF of the manual on your smart-phone.
Because odds are you WILL do something that you don't know how to get out of. And the only solution is to read the manual. Been there, done that, TWICE.

Hi,

Bought myself a camera I thought would be simple, as I'm an amateur.
Taken out of the box and charged the battery overnight. Put it all together with a newish Sandisk SD card, and I can't get any power to the viewfinder. Not even as far as setting the time and date.

When I look through the eyepiece, there are numbers at the bottom when the camera is ON, so there is some power coming through.

Please help - I'm waiting to hear back from Canon but I bought this for my holiday this Friday!

Thanks
Scott