canon powerhot sx50hs vs dslr

keesha

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hi,
i'm buying a camera after quite some time and planing on buying one that will be my companion for the next 3-4 years at least. Because of my limited budget and my special needs considering the camera i'm having troubles picking the right one.
My first choice was canon sx50hs, but couple of my friends are talking me out of it, saying that i should, for that amount of money, buy a dslr camera.
It seams that i won't, in the close future, be able to afford any additional equipment like lens or stuff, and i don't actually need an dslr camera.
i'm an amateur photographer, but i've been taking photos for eternity and i need a solid camera with auto and manual controls, that makes good, clear photos.
Since i take a lot of pictures from some quite inconvenient angles (etc from the ground), it is important to me that my camera has a:

1.fully articulated lcd, so this is the starting point for my search.
other important features for me are:
2.solid image stabilization (shaking hands ) and low noise
3.good macro (love the close-ups and the wide-angled shots)
3.good dynamic range (hate those partially burnt-partially underexposed photos)
4. RAW
5.HD video.

Those would be most important features to me, fell free to point me to some features i might have neglected. i repeat, i wont' be able to afford the additional equipment other than some basic lens if needed.
Except canon powershot sx50 hs and nikon d5100, i'v been considering eventually borrowing some money from my parents if i decide to go for canon eos 600d.

I prefer canon and nikon cameras but if you know some model from the other brand that you think would fit me, please suggest it.

Though videos are the least important feature for me, it would be nice to have a camera that makes decent videos as well as the photos.