Canon Powershot G10?

i agree, post processing is an art form as well. but we all have preferences to different art forms!

IMO if you want digital, small, but what good quality that point and shoots don't deliver, look into micro 4/3rds. The EP1 and GF1 both shoot excellent images and at least give you DOF control. Not to mention with the pancake lenses, are pretty darn small for what they do.

If you still want a compact, than i'd go with the LX3. It's got an f/2 lens, and at ISO 80 is one of the cleanest compact sensor cameras i've seen.

Have you noticed? You're the only person in this thread not using capital letters. I think that's called a 'tell'? :lol:

hello!

i shoot film right now, but i was interested in moving into digital as well. i have little to no experience in the digital realm, and id like so advice about the Canon Powershot G10.

now, all the kids love to go out and spend their parents money on a brand new Nikon D90 or Canon EOS or something, but i dont know if i'm ready to drop the coin necessary for a full out dSLR.

my friend has a Canon G10 and im very impressed. the picture quality is great, it shoots in RAW, the controls are very intuitive, and apparently you can get an adapter and mount different lenses! neato!

well, like i said, im a dummy when it comes to digital photography, so any advice is welcome. anyone here use the Canon Poweshot series? love/hate?

could someone recommend me a dSLR for a beginner like myself, if not the Powershot G10?

thanks!

The G10 is a great camera. An excellent point and shoot. But it's still a point and shoot. I use one as a carry-everywhere camera.

But it's still a point and shoot, and has the limitations of one. Buying an entry level dSLR would be a much better option if you plan on eventually moving into that area.

Have you noticed? You're the only person in this thread not using capital letters. I think that's called a 'tell'? :lol: