Canon Pro Lenses

DDG1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I wanted to get a couple Canon pro lenses, or more, over the years. I understand a few basics in that there are macro lenses and telephoto lenses and!!! they can have IS, or not, etc. I am into hunting tests and field trials with pointing dogs. I also fly fish. I have a Canon Rebel XS dslr camera. I was told that a pro lenses would greatly increase the quality of my pics. I'm not certain what a "pro" lens is. I found a lens that has IS and zooms to 250mm...it's an EF, I think. I'm not certain if that is good enough to take a high quality photo. Any info would be appreciated. Try to explain it simply. I am new to this, but want to get a good start with the right lens.

It's a myth that better or "pro" lenses will greatly increase the quality of your pics.

The way to greatly increase the quality of your pics is to get a REALLY good handle on how best to use the basic gear of your camera body, aperture, shutter speed, ISO and your lens, and to get them as steady as possible when shooting, or to compensate with faster shutter speeds and / or larger apertures when that's not possible.

No lens can correct the many mistakes new photographers make with all the rest of that stuff, which is 99% of the REAL problems new photographers think they can solve with better "pro" lenses.

Thanks, Buckster. I'll read the manuals that came with it and see what I can learn. Any online classes or info for free that you would recommend for noobs?

I really agree with Buckster on this.