Care to check out my site?

Johnboy2978

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.johncountsphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I recently decided after about 5 months of not having my site that I kind of missed it, even though I don't update it very often.

I was wondering if you would mind to check it out and give my your opinion of it. First, I am not a pro, rather an enthusiast who occasionally makes some gear money from the hobby. The site was primarily created to give a prospective client an idea of what kind of work I do. As such I created the site completely on my own w/ my rudimentary knowledge.

Second, I like to have a flash intro. I know many hate them, but I did leave in a SKIP button if you don't want to look at it. I would like to know if it takes an inordinate amount of time to load for you though.

Any other critique is appreciated.

Address is in my sig.

Last edited:
Hi John,
I'll be the first to bite the bullet and say what I thought.

I watched the first couple of slides of the intro then hit the skip button.
Good on you for building it yourself and I know it's hard to take criticism
on something you put a lot of effort into.

But once you get past the intro it looks outdated and cheap. To a lot
of clients this could be a big turn off. I don't intend to be mean just honest.

Here are some examples of websites of other pro/am photogs I've come across in
different photography forums. They are simple yet effective and a similar look
can be achieved yourself using web based programs without having to hire a web designer.
Sidd Rishi Photography
Coffs Harbour Family Portrait Photography|Model Portfolios|Fashion photography | Emma Rhoades Photography
RSW Images
welcome

Hope that helps mate. By the way I had a look at your photos while
I was on your site. Great stuff.

Here's my input as a former website designer of about 10 years.