Changing camera make

ketan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I am a hobbyist and currently quite invested in Cano (6D, 24-105 f/4, 16-35 f/4, 70-200 f/4, Sigma 150-500).

Mainly I use camera for street, family photos and landscape. No sports or video.

The problem of noise in photo was pronounced when I started using Adobe LR extensively. It revealed lot of noise while attempting to pull out details from shadows. I read that Nikon is far powerful in this area of Dynamic Range (which appear critical as it affects photo quality) and hence low noise. Reviews also rate D810 much higher than 5D III or 5D IV. Even 6D II is also not rated too high in this area. Canon does not seem to be in hurry to address this issue either.

Now seriously thinking of changing the make of my camera.

Just curious to know that what % roughly one expect to realise from old gear? May be I will start with good Nikon body with 2 lens and then slowly build my kit.

Thanks,

You might get 60% if in good condition, just a guess, but you should try and get hold of a raw file from a Nikon and make sure you're happy with what it does before changing everything

Thanks for the reply and wonderful suggestion. Are there any sights or links available from where we can download full resolution raw files of photo taken through various camera?

Sure, for instance Wesaturate | Free, High-Quality Photos

Unless you NEED that extra dynamic range (which I highly doubt based on your post), it's way too expensive to switch to a different system after you've committed to one, which you already did judging by your collection. 6D is very nice in terms of noise handling and if you have some huge issues with noise, maybe you're just using way too high ISO? From my experience anything under 10 000 is perfectly usable.

Don't forget that camera is just a tool. Nikon has its problems too, don't expect miracles.