Chicago Charcoal Photo "Sketches"

joethedestroyer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A couple of years ago I edited a series of shots I took of downtown chicago to look like they had been charcoal sketched. My degree is in advertising, and as a result I have a vastly untapped compendium of knowledge on graphic design work tucked away in my brain, but these were super simple to make. Not really photography from a purist's point of view, but I figure I've been hoarding these to myself for long enough without letting anyone see them. I just wanted to share, really. These were all taken on several different point & shoots, as I've only recently taken an interest in dSLR photography (and am waiting for the CFO/wife to give the greenlight on a D90 ;)

Let me know what you think. I know it's an odd concept, but, well... That's how I roll.

bean.jpg

beanflatshot.jpg

train.jpg

theatre1.jpg

ChicagoSkyline4.jpg

park1.jpg

beantourists.jpg

hancockandSL3.jpg

IMG_0255.jpg

Ok I am confused, these are photographs or sketch charcoal drawings? Either way they are way cool and very good. I really like them! This coming from a person who has a degree in art and photography.
The composition in all of them is very nice. You really did a great job.

Thanks!

Yeah, they really are photographs... Just with a little bit of photoshop trickery mixed in to make them look like they were sketched. Truthfully, I did these so long ago that I forgot exactly how I did them! Since I did these, I've seen a video on youtube that gave a how-to guide that seemed pretty close. I know there was duplicate layers, one with the colors inverted, and a minimize filter, but my memory is hazy on the subject.

Well you did a fantastic job. I am in awe!

cool idea, i like the concept a lot. my favorite is the skyline whith chicago on it, i dunno its very signish and cool haha. :thumbup: