Choosing camera for portraits (mostly)

essdrae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there, everyone. I’m new in the world of photography. The only camera I owned was a point-and-shoot camera but recently I found out the work of many great photographers and so I took interest in photography as a work of art. Ok, to put it simply, I’d really like to start being a bit more serious about it, so I wanted to buy a decent camera. Now, I really love the work of photographers such as Henri Cartier-Bresson, William Klein, Richard Avedon and others. What I can say is that I like taking portraits, so I’m not really into sport or wild photography; I want to take photos of people. I was thinking to buy a mirrorless but they are more expensive than DSLR (and let’s not talk about the lenses!), so I think I’ll stick with a DSLR, after all. Anyway, I was thinking to buy only the body and then buy a couple of really good lenses. About my budget, well, I think I’ve got 800 dollars or so. So, what model do you guys think I should buy? :blushing:

You are going to get alot of recomendations, but first a bit of reality.
"really good lenses" are not cheap. See here as an example of Nikon lenses and one of the first few are above your total budget and that excludes a camera body. But nowadays the kit lenses (the ones sold with a body in a package deal) are nice and sharp so its a great starting point.
Portrait Lens | Wide Angle Lens | Nikon

And you will learn quickly that just because you have a camera does not make you an artist that makes a living at it. You can get there, it just takes alot of learning.

you may want to search online for camera kits in your budget. You'll find Nikon D5200, nikon D3200 in that range. Also Canons and other makes. Of course this all excludes other gear .. tripod, bag, flash, etc.

Last edited: