Cityscape night shot

kindjordan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I just found this forum and I was intersted in hearing an opinon of a photo I took last night. I am a beginning photographer who just got a new camera and Im trying to learn the ropes. Any comments would be apreicated.

testvf1.jpg

umm... nice photo, but what is that red white and blue streak in the sky, my only guess is a plane?

Heya, welcome to ThePhotoForum!
It is cool to see that the first photo you are showing us here is a nighttime photo of ... where?

My son and I stared at this for a long time, wondering if we find the approaching planes a distraction or not? And we came to the conclusion that they are quite much distracting from the town-scape you tried to capture here, but that they also fascinate us quite a bit. Their given passage way towards the airport is so clearly outlined.

My son then said: if he was standing there and the planes were coming, what else could he do? They are distracting but also ... well: there! Part of the scene. I think he is right.

Thank you for your comments. The orignal is a photo from my bedroom in Yonkers, NY. It is 12 miles North of New York City. You look directly at the George Washington Bridge and Manhattan in the backround.

I live on the approach path for La Guardia so yes, you are seeing numerious planes in the picture. It is usually a busy sky so I am also able to create photographs like this!

cityscape22.gif

Can anyone comment on the quality of the orignal top photo? I just purchaced a new camera and I was wondering what the general thoughts on quality were.

My own oppinion, I'd say if you photoshop'd those planes out, it would be an amazing picture. It's a great shot as it is, but it would be better if those planes were not there.