Class assignment:replicate a great artist's work.

celery

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.ycarabas.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Here's the deal, I'm in a photography class (no I'm not a beginner, I just wanted to have access to a darkroom and get feedback for my work), anyway, we have two weeks to pick a photographer and try to make an exact copy of one of their pieces.

I'm doing my best to search for various artists, but I keep running into problems such as . . .

Location. I'm not rich, I can't get in a plane and fly to where ever I want.

People. Unless they're in shadow or masked in some way, I can't get that same person to come pose for me.

My current pick is Girl of Taos by Ansel Adams:
http://www.agallery.com/Pages/photographers/photos/aadams/AA004GirlofTaos1930.jpg

It's something that I could fairly easily re-create and the face is non-descript enough that I could get by without needing much of a resemblence.

Also Edward Weston:
http://www.artnet.com/artwork_images_613_114477_edward-weston.jpg
http://www.photogrowth.com/images/blog/2006/0429_Weston.jpg

I'm looking for suggestions. Many of you have much more photographic knowledge than I, and if you could recall either some artists or pieces of work that I could look at, I would appreciate it.

pepper number 30 or some odd number to that effect would not be easy to create considering the awesome value but what about landscapes of ansel adams? http://www.masters-of-photography.com/ is an awesome site to look at famous peoples work

I doubt they want an exact replica. I would assume your instructor is expecting you to re-create a photo using your local scene and people. Why not do a google search on street photography? There are A LOT of scenes that you could easily re-create within your city.

"we have two weeks to pick a photographer and try to make an exact copy of one of their pieces"