Cleaning Filters on the fly?

Kenneth.Shen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, i was wondering if anybody has some good tips on cleaning filters on the fly. when im shooting at the beach, or near a large body of water, my lens or filter always gets a great deal of sea spray on them. my lenspen seems in-effective to this and i was hoping to get some tips on cleaning it off well to keep shooting. if it helps, i usually use a B+W filters. Thanks!

You can get quite elaborate, but for in the field this is what I have been doing with all my lenses for over three decades.
I try to carry a cheapo ear syringe in my bag, and use it to blow off any loose material. I then use my breath (which is always available, I hope, and is close to distilled water in purity), followed quickly with a gentle wiping with a microfiber cloth.
Contrary to common belief (misinformation), multicloated filters are no more prone to damage from proper cleaning. When you get home, a better cleaning can be done with distilled water, or ethanol if necessary, applying the alcohol to the cloth first.

I did essentially the same, except I have never trusted using a non-disposable cloth, of any kind, to wipe my glass with. I have always used disposable lens tissue when I needed to wipe my glass.

thanks! I gotta check them out. but i do have some microfibers and a rocket blower i can use for now. Thanks!

It's a filter. One of the reasons for having them is because they are effectively disposable. I use a shirt to clean mine.

"It's a filter. One of the reasons for having them is because they are effectively disposable".............
Yours may be 'disposable', but my Canon 400L B+W 77mm filters are $70. for the UV and $128. for the CP.