Clear photos and lens choice for the Nikon D5000

Tbehl1214

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I own a Nikon D5000 with the kit lens (18-55 mm) and the 18-200mm lens. I am new to this and cannot seem to get a clear and crisp photo. I typically only use S mode or A mode. No auto. I've read everything about being really still, using a tripod, etc. Is there anything I can do using either of these lens to correct this? I've played around with the shutter speed, but still no luck. I can't get blurry backgrounds with my 18-55 but they seem to be a little more clearer. The other lens will produce a blur, but my subjects are fuzzy! I attached a photo that I wish would have been a little better. :(

Also, If I am going to be taking pictures of families are these two lens okay? I was hoping to get a new lens, but can't spend a lot while I am learning. I've been reading a lot about the 35mm, 50mm, and 85 mm but have no clue what would work best for portraits. Any advice?

Thank you!!!

Attachments

• Jack 005.jpg
    Jack 005.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 263
Hmmm. That was shot at 1/160 second at f/5 with ISO of 800. Shutter speed should have been ok to prevent movement-related blur but maybe you're getting some ISO-related noise? Not sure- how the D5000 does with ISO above 640.

You would need a friend or family member who also shoots Nikon, but if you have the ability to methodically swap and compare gear, I would suggest that route:

1. Take a sample shot with your rig.
2. Take the identical shot using your lens on the "other" camera.
3. Take the identical shot using your camera with the "other" lens.
4. Take the identical shot using the "other" camera and the "other" lens.

This would allow you to rule out a hardware issue in terms of either defective body or defective lens. If you find a clear culprit then there you go- if not then we must be dealing with a technique issue.

Looks like a lot of camera movement to me.