Complete beginner!

www.roberthein.dk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

First to make it clear if the subject doesn't tell it.. i have no experience what so ever.. have a Canon Digital IXUS!

Now it might be a hard to answer question, but i would like somene to help me what could be a good beginner equipment, and as cheap as possible.. but the pictures that i'm looking after to take, i believe is not super advanced, its just not possible with my little Canon Digital IXUS

Here is a sample of what i want.. (Picture of my buddy)

6789.jpg

Love the warm colors and the dark background, i know the photographer (my mate, used some external blitz that he just held n the hand.)

Here is what i dont want.. Its a typical party picture, they get grainy or too much blitz, and boring colors, no depth!

2345.jpg

If anyone could give some advice on what equipment could be a fine start, it would be much appreciated, and again im looking at a cheap solution, without any idea of budget, as i dont know anything about gear needed. :sexywink:

Kind regards
Robert Hein
Robert Hein | Hello[at]roberthein.dk | +66 80 520 6 520

Last edited:
wow really nobody who can give some feedback on this ? i didnt though it was that complicated! huh! :(

Okay, so this is my take. The second photo may help with some correct white balance (makes the colors warm or cold), and also, maybe some fill flash.

On a lot of P&S cameras, the flash only fires at one strength. So whenever you are in a place, it just fires and sometimes is wayy to bright.

But a DSLR, will have what they call fill flash. It will see before the shot is taken how much light is needed, and then only use that much. Its really cool, and it really really really helps when you're trying to get a shot just right.

Anyway, I'm kind of a beginner myself, so this is all I know. But I hope it helps you out!