Completely new to this; Upcoming trip, need advice

Png1lady

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am completely new to photography and very excited to start learning all I can. I have a whale watch trip coming up and I need advice. My game plan now is to take some shots in Auto mode, so as to at least get the once in a lifetime memory, and then spend time enjoying the trip. We will have enough time, that I would like to try some shots that go beyond Auto setting. Any advice? As I said, I am completely new to this.

Without trying to be rude, read the manual. Don't get me wrong, but it is still the best resource for any newbie. And there is nothing wrong in shooting in auto mode fo beginners. There is a reason camera makers include that feature. Then learn about the exposure triangle so that you can control your shots. Below is a link regarding the exposure triangle.

The Exposure Triangle ? In Beginner Speak ?The End of Auto Mode? « Fletch?s Photo Blog

Happy trip! :)

Not rude at all. I've heard that from a number of sources. And that's just what I've been doing, and will continue to do. I will follow your link, thanks.

I have to disagree. The manual is barely going to help you. Yes, it will roughly explain the buttons and the modes. But that's it. I started off just like you and I skipped the whole manual part. Your best bet is the internet. Google and read, read, read and read some more. Combine all this with trial and error (ok not during your whale shots, you don't want to miss the critical shot) and you'll be on your way. You will make mistakes in the beginning, but so has everyone. Try and find a specific niche you're interested in and excel in that. Happy shooting! :)

My advice, use Auto on this trip and learn more advanced methods for next time.