Concert Photography

pasteofanchovie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I go to many concerts and my cell phone camera isn't cutting it for me. I was wondering what was the best way to take pictures of the bands with a Kodak Easyshare Z612 and a Canon Powershot G9. I'm learning about ISO, aperture and shutter speed and its starting to make some sense. Does anyone have any experience with this and what setting they use? Thanks in advance for the help!

I'm no expert but I have found being close to the front is good for lighting and also so you don't have to zoom in so far. You will probably want to keep the aperture wide open (lowest F/ number), the shutter speed pretty slow (I'd have to try it out and it depends on the camera and lighting and all but I'd say 1/4 second or slower, probably slower) and higher ISO. I'd try to keep ISO lower to start with since higher ISO will make for noisy pics. I'd try to keep it at ISO 800 on that type of camera. You'll want to have your IS turned on too. You can try using the Aperture Priority or Shutter Priority modes but you may need to use full manual mode to expose things right. I'd try upping the exposure compensation in AP or SP modes before going manual, unless you're good at balancing aperture and shutter speeds. I think these suggestions will at least point you in the right direction. Someone who knows a lot more than me will hopefully chime in soon :lmao:.