confiscation

bolter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok im a student taking class in photography. about a month ago our instructor had us run off a roll of film to learn how to develop it. anyways i work at target so after work i went in and shot some stuff and i made sure to ask anyone that i photographed if it was ok. also the manager on duty knew i was doing it and didnt seem to have a problem with it. yesterday one of my coworkers asked to see some of the photos that i had printed. my other manager saw them and made me follow him to a private office and ordered me to hand over all photos that were shot at Targert. I told him no but i finaly gave them to him out of the implied fear of losing my job. I just want to know does he have the legal right to convisate me photos like that?

It sort of depends on your contract with your employer, and if there are any signs that ban photography in the store. (Even if bouth are there, once the first manager has sayed yes. His yes sets presidence. if both managers are at the same rank in the system that is.) Make sure to get the approval in wrighting next time, that way no one can cause a problem for you.

I work at an aircraft engine overhaul facility, and there is nothing so secret here that I can't photograph it. (This is why I wonder what could it be at a store that causes such a fuss...?)

If you are in the US I am unsure but in the UK you have the right to photograph in public areas. As far as I am aware this includes shops if you are in the publically accessible area of the shop.

Sounds like one of your managers likes to think himself more important than he really is. I can think of no other reason to stop you taking pictures in such a store.

Either way I am fairly certain if he did sack you for not handing over the photos you would have grounds for unfair dismissal.