Considerations with film speed...

SquirrelNuts

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to 35mm SLR photography. I shoot at least one roll every day and I am learning from my mistakes. Each day, the overall crop is better. I am applying what I learn from botched shots and my book and online readings, and I can tell a dramatic difference in everything.

My mistake for today: Assuming that I can get great detail from Polaroid 800 speed high definition film. I tried taking some gun and knife pictures and some turned out ok, but nothing spectacular.

Tomorrow I am going to use some 100 speed Fuji to get better detail. I will be using a tripod. I am comfortable selecting F-stops and shutter speeds for 400 and 800 speed film. Do I need to make any changes in my F-stop and shutter speed selections going to a slower film? Maybe open up a F-stop from what I regularly would? Should I just stick to settings I am already comfortable with?

I am using a Canon AE-1 Program until my Nikon N80 arrives from Adorama. I generally use the camera in S/Tv mode, but I am actually just adjusting the shutter speed until the camera selects the aperature that I want to control the depth of field. I do this because the shutter speed dial is right next to the shutter release and I can do it without looking. Should I just continue using the F-stops that I like and let the camera pick the shutter speed in an indirect way?

-SquirrelNuts

SquirrelNuts said:
Tomorrow I am going to use some 100 speed Fuji to get better detail. I will be using a tripod. I am comfortable selecting F-stops and shutter speeds for 400 and 800 speed film. Do I need to make any changes in my F-stop and shutter speed selections going to a slower film? Maybe open up a F-stop from what I regularly would? Should I just stick to settings I am already comfortable with?