Considering a D50

Wiggly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well, I'm going to be buying my first SLR probably within the next 4-6 months and was considering the D50. The only thing that worries me is the 6.1 MPs. Would that be ok prints as large as 11x14 or even a little larger? Also, I mean, can this camera be used for professional shots? IE wedding photography? I'm an associated partner for a wedding photographer and was just looking for a second opinion. I'm still learning ALOT and mostly just follow orders and assist right now. Things like keep files in order etc etc. Untill I have enough experience to handle a full job alone anyway then I'll get equal cut wooo. Anyway, just thought I would explain before the questions came. Thanks! -kris

The D50 is certainly a good camera and capable of producing files for 11x14 prints. Making large prints is easier though, if you do have more pixels to work with. I can't remember what the price difference is for the D80...but I'd give it serious considerations as well. That's if you are only considering a Nikon. Otherwise, I'd also consider the Canon Rebel XTi or 30D.

I'm prob gonna stick with nikon just because I kinda have a comfort with them. Everyone I know uses Nikon soooo, ya know. The price difference is about 300-400 dollars with the d50 and d80 so it's pretty cosiderable. I just don't want something that I'm going to "outgrow" to soon... any thoughts?

I use a D50 and every lens I own cost more than the camera body. So at least I think it has enough resolution for professional results. I print 8 1/2" X 11" on an ink jet printer. I normally resize down to 400 dpi to print. Any additional resolution would be fairly wasted on that printer and print size. I have a growing collection of camera raw files on the hard drive. I never use anywhere near all of the resolution they contain.