considering my options

lukeS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography.I bought a Nikon D60 off of my friend. I unfortunately live in Michigan, so the current weather is very inconvenient to shoot in. I have bought a few books, such as Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson and the first edition of the step by step books Scott Kelby offers. I also browse forums, watch youtube videos, and whatever else I can to learn about photography. I understand the best way to learn, is to get out and shoot, but with the current weather situation it is difficult. I know Scott Kelby offers online classes for like 25 bucks a month. Does anyone have any experience with these? are they worth it? I want to learn as much as I can so when the weather gets better, I can go out and enjoy myself.

Can you shoot indoors?

Why do you have to go outside to shoot anything? People are always of the opinion that the subjects that they need to shoot are somewhere that they aren't. Subjects are all around you, all you have to do is separate them from the clutter in your mind. What's wrong with that little glass nick-nack sitting on the shelf in the living room? Or the salt shaker on the dining room table? Or the way the shaft of sunlight is coming through that window? I was once taught that no matter WHERE you are at any given moment there is an excellent photograph right where you are standing. All you have to do is find it.

I definitely can shoot in my house, I just am very in to urban photography.

Years ago there was a very wonderful Portfolio of images taken in a cabin that had gotten snowed in, nothing about the outside appeared.

I understand you have a new camera and perhaps you knowledge is limited but don't let that stop you from thinking outside the box and just fire away trying to be as creative as you can image.

Professional take more bad photos than most people think or can image, they do so, because they aren't afraid to fail and are not afraid to experiment.